KATHY'S TRANSFORMATION STORY

I can't say enough about how wonderful Kathy is. Her dedication, focus, and positive spirit to recovering from a bad situation of breast cancer inspires me every day. Take a intimate look about her journey and interview below. 

Tell me about where your personal journey stated?

My Training Began with Sandy in July of 2011, just 3 years after being diagnosed with Breast Cancer. I think of how I was back then, and all that she has done to train me as to working out, eating right and the importance that one does not work without the other. Sandy is my miracle worker. She took a marshmallow and trained it to keep the goals small and attainable. Through nutrition, meal planning, cardio plans and personal training 2 to 3 times a week. I sweated until there was no more marshmallow, just a firmer shape. At 68 years of age, I now get looks from the guys that I wish I’d had when I was 18. And my husband loves it! Sandy has guided me to be able to work out on my own, something I was unable to do until I met her. With Sandy's kind, supportive, encouraging and caring help, I have learned to eat clean and work my body right so it stays healthy. I consider Sandy to be my close friend. I have loved and hated how she has made me work. I can only say thank you Sandy for what you have helped me accomplish, and I look forward to continue learning from her.

Where are you now and How do you feel compared to before?

After dealing with the Cancer, to heal, all my doctors told me to eat, so I did. Then I was so miserable at 185 lbs+/-. It was obvious I was no longer in control of myself. But now I’m so close to reaching that first goal from back in 2011. Because of the Cancer and treatment for it, I haven’t been able to wear my wedding ring due to swelling and possibly because my weight was a tad out of hand. My first goal was to lose the weight till I could wear my wedding ring again. Bit by bit in keeping my goals small and attainable, I am almost there. But totally now, I am healthy and I’m so glad for that. I’m still under the care of my Oncologist, I am 9 years out, but she is also amazed at my progress. Most importantly I’m in control of myself once again.

What made you decide to work with me?

After several years of surgeries and follow-up therapies, weight watchers, exercise DVD’s, weight loss pills and powders with no real results, I flat out needed help. It was my husband that came to my rescue. He contacted a friend in Idaho who said she knew a personal trainer here in Utah. After going on line and reading up about this trainer I asked “what could this trainer offer that I hadn’t already tried.” So, I discussed the different programs with my husband (after all it was his idea), and I (we) decided I should contact Sandy. That’s right, it took a friend in Idaho for me to find Sandy. Sandy wanted to know if I really wanted to change. So, I decided to work with Sandy and she agreed to work with me. I didn’t know what was instore for me, but through all the sweat and hard work and learning to meal plan, I still look on that day as my Happy Day!

What key things did you learn while working with me? 

Nutrition: eat clean, start from scratch, fresh food, no processed food.

Meal planning: important to know what you are consuming, protein, carbohydrates, fats. (This is still a little difficult for me, so I use a program to help me keep track. (Calorie King)

Workouts: To work a different set of muscles each day, or mix up the days they are worked out. Example: Chest and Biceps, Back and Triceps, Abs and Lats, Legs (Quads & Hamstrings) and Calves. And how to use the equipment I have at home as well as the machines at the gym.

If I want a healthy firm body, I have to go out and work on it. It won’t happen by just wishing for it!!!

TERESA'S SUCCESS STORY

When working with my clients my ultimate goal is to change their lifestyle to a healthier one. This success story goes beyond what I could have hoped for. Teresa's story touches so many areas where so many women struggle. I hope you can find the time to listen to this intimidate interview of her trials, and in the end her successes. How she was basically in bed sick for three years, on medication and missing out on valuable time with her family. What she did to overcome the obstacles to get her life back. 

KAREN'S TESTIMONIAL

I felt old, was having serious health issues like painful arthritic conditions, had too much weight, and was not strong enough to be able to do all of the things I would like to do.  I had tried many other ways of eating and working out without success.  I even tried a plan where I purchased food and ate very minimally (700 calories or less) and did not lose weight to my satisfaction.  I would always reach a plateau and then would get discouraged.  Never did I discover a way of healthy eating and exercise that would be a “life-long” habit.

I started off weight training with Sandy 2 times per week and once on my own.  I did cardio 4 times per week as per Sandy’s instruction.  I also received nutrition/meal plans from Sandy, as she analyzed my metabolism and caloric intake to help me reach my goals.  Weight training with Sandy was FUN and hard work!  I learned how to use weights in the proper manner.  I also learned how to breathe while training, if you can believe it.  It was interesting to see how food is essential to a working metabolism and healthy body.

I feel confident about my progress and growth.  I have learned so much about strength and weight training; I am much stronger than I have ever been and actually have muscles that I can see. ☺  I have lost weight and I feel great!  I am happy to shop and wear all types of clothes that I want to wear.  Sandy has given me my workouts and nutrition plan for the past year, and I have followed her suggestions and advice to reach my goals.  I am confident to continue with this lifestyle and nutritional plan so that I can maintain my achievements. 

Sandy is exceptional.  She knows what she is doing!  It is important to know that Sandy focuses on YOU, as an individual.  Every person is different and has their own challenges.  Sandy discusses your challenges and goals and works on a program that reaches those goals. The success she helps others achieve is something you should know because she will help YOU to also reach your goals successfully.  

Sandy is a motivator.  She knows how to keep you on course.  This road is not an easy one.  It requires hard work and consistency.  Sandy is able to encourage you physically, mentally and emotionally to carry on.  She knows what works and believes in you!  

Karen lost 27 lbs, 14.5% body fat and lost 26 inches overall. Karen is a sexy grandma rocking her bikini at 61 years old. 

JAMIE

I started to experience panic attacks about 13 months ago. Panic attacks are not fun and completely scary. During my panic attacks I would fall to the ground, scream, hyperventilate, then cry. My children witnessed this condition that I developed and it scared them to the point that they were always asking if I took my medication.  Not knowing why all the sudden I started having these attacks I went to the doctors and was prescribed anxiety medication. I was so miserable and just needed this condition fixed. The medication gave me a temporary fix and that is it.

I was told many times by many doctors that exercise and eating healthy would help decrease my illness. Well, I finally listened and that's when I found Sandy. In these past ten weeks I have learned how to eat clean, when to eat, what to eat. I have learned how much I should weight train and cardio weekly. I have learned how to maintain a proper form as well. I would like to share with you, I have not had one panic attack or even felt any anxiety since this life change. Other benefits since I started training with sandy are that I haven't had any headaches like I had daily before, I do not have mood swings right before my menstrual like I used too, I have energy to keep up with my 8 kids, school, work, and life.  No more stomach aches like I had with everything I ate. I love looking at myself in the mirror and I feel confident in a swimsuit :) .  Thank you sandy for not only making me look great on my outside but for giving me the tools and knowledge on how to maintain a healthy lifestyle, for believing in me, giving me hope and knowing that all those illnesses I had before was because of my lifestyle and they are curable . Thank you for contributing to my healthier mental health. 

In 10 weeks Jamie lost 8.25 inches and 7.6% body fat. 

VALYNN

Before and after

Since my early thirties I’ve tried to incorporate some sort of exercise into my life as a way to stay in shape and have the best quality of life possible. I tried strength training on my own, hot yoga classes, running, group fitness, and just prior to working with Sandy I spent about 6 months regularly attending a crossfit gym.  While all of these activities were beneficial, I was never able to achieve the lean, sculpted body I was looking for.  I was in my mid 40’s and wanted to approach the next phase of my life as strong and healthy as possible.  I decided to contact Sandy and I can honestly say that decision was one of the best things I’ve ever done for myself.

Sandy’s program was straightforward and easy to follow.  My training appointments were something I truly looked forward to every week.  Sandy taught me so much about proper form, mixing things up, and using the correct weight for my goals.  Her meal plans were always well thought out and I never had the feeling of being deprived.  If fact, I was probably eating more than I had before.  I started seeing results right away and for the first time in my life I felt like all of the pieces of a healthy lifestyle were coming together.  My nutrition, cardio, proper weight training, and supplements all made sense.

What I’ve learned from Sandy is not a 12 -week diet but a realistic lifestyle that I hope to maintain for the rest of my life.  I feel stronger not only physically, but mentally and emotionally as well.  I have more energy, I feel better about myself and working with Sandy has brought nothing but positive changes to my life. Having accountability was key for me and it was an absolute pleasure to work with Sandy.  She is one of the most positive, genuine women I know and her guidance and support have been invaluable to me.  She is an inspiration because she lives what she teaches and she’s the fittest, healthiest 50 year old I know!  Thank You so much Sandy, you’re the best!

Valynn lost 12.3% body fat, 17 inches overall and 10 lbs. Just goes to show that body sculpting has more to do with body fat vs the number on the scale.

BROOKE

Before I started working out with Sandy I never lifted weights.  I thought lifting would make me big, bulky, and masculine. I wanted to be toned, tight, and shapely. Unbeknownst to me, I was going about it totally wrong. That is when Sandy stepped in. She encouraged me to implement lifting into my routine and am so glad that I did. My body got leaner, my legs, and butt filled in in all of the right places and I finally started to see the body I have always dreamed of.

When I started working with Sandy my entire outlook towards nutrition and fitness changed. She taught me that food was my friend, and crucial to achieving my goals. Workouts became fun and no longer a chore, but a chance to challenge myself and change my body. 

I started training with Sandy back in 2013 after signing up for my first fitness competition and I have never looked back. Since then I have competed in 4 more additional shows, earned my NGA Pro card, and completely changed my body for the better. 

Sandy is an excellent trainer. She is attentive, knowledgable, but most importantly just a good person. I am glad to not only call Sandy Hancock my trainer, but also my friend. 

LEAH

When I started with Sandy in December 2015, I was looking to achieve a long-time goal of finally getting that “perfect body” I had in my mind. I was fit, but I always fell short of my ultimate goal.

A bodybuilding competition gave me a concrete deadline, and Sandy showed me how to perfect my diet and training to get that balanced strong and feminine look.

She kept me motivated and accountable. I hoped to do well at the competition but I was shocked when I won my division and then won first place overall in the novice category. It was such an incredible feeling standing on stage knowing all the hard work paid off.

My body looks better now after two kids than it did at 20 years old. I’m so glad that I worked with Sandy instead of trying to do it on my own, because her years of experience and her dedication and investment were a crucial factor in my success.

After the show I took fitness photographs with an amazing photographer Sandy recommended, Lyman Winn. They are now my all-time favorite pictures of myself and I’ll always have them to commemorate the goal I set, the work I put in, and the happiness I felt at hitting the mark dead center.

LEANNA

Growing up, I was always petite. I had a small frame, decent curves, could eat junk food like it was going out of style, have two kids, and bounce right back. Thank you, good genes…I took complete advantage of this. Then, I had baby number three. Goodbye good jeans and goodbye good genes! Nothing bounced back into shape. Things just jiggled, everything jiggled. I figured I’d give it some time, a year, and nothing changed. I was still the largest I had ever been. As my jean size continued to rise, my self-esteem dropped. I hated shopping, being around people, looking in the mirror, everything. I was grumpy and had a negative attitude toward everything and everyone. I decided I would get a gym membership and after 5 months, there was still no change. Frustrating!

I had heard of Sandy through my sister-in-law and saw the amazing changes she had made. My sister-in-law was looking fantastic, so I sent Sandy and email. She was so sincere and excited to help another person. I decided to sign up, hoping that I would not fail. Sandy required starting pictures…in a swimsuit… YIKES! I saw my pictures and sent them off thinking everything negative. I didn’t tell anyone I had signed up with Sandy, expecting to fail, but having enough hope that Sandy could be my miracle worker.

I had met with Sandy and was very scared and nervous. But after talking for a few minutes with her, I felt like she was the most caring, encouraging, supportive person. She knew what she was talking about. She set her guidelines and I knew she actually wanted to see me succeed. I did not want to fail.

Sandy set me up with EVERYTHING I needed to get back in shape. The nutrition aspect was the biggest change. I was eating a lot more than I had ever before in my life and there was no endless, snacking on Goldfish and junk. She responded quickly to any questions. She encouraged me when I doubted myself. I was beginning to set goals and look for the positive. After a few short weeks, I had noticed a change! People began to notice a change, not only in my appearance, but my attitude. There were positive changes in my physical and mental health happening and I gave credit to Sandy. I told everyone I had an amazing trainer! I became focused and knew I would not fail! I would not fail my trainer, my family, or myself!

In twelve weeks, I have learned so much working with Sandy. She has been a life saver! She has helped me change my physical health and my mental health. I have learned about the importance of nutrition, weight training, and cardio. I have learned the importance of changing self-doubt to personal empowerment. I cannot tell you enough, how truly grateful I am to have worked with Sandy. She is an amazing, caring, knowledgeable, trusting, and encouraging person and trainer!

I am excited to work with Sandy again and would highly recommend her to anyone!

12-Weeks Leanna lost 5% body fat, 7 inches and 5.6 lbs.

MELISSA

I am 34 years old, married with two young boys (3 years old and 5 months old). I am a Marketing Director of Extra Space Storage, the second largest self storage company in the US.

I had my first son when I was 31 through cesarean and had a long recovery after my surgery. I had gained about 33 pounds during that pregnancy which is about average but I held onto a lot of the fat for a long time. I had always had a body type where it was fairly easy to stay in shape. I ate reasonably well and worked out consistently. I just never really had to worry about it until after having my first baby when I noticed my body had changed.

I worked hard to get back into shape and it took me about a year to get into reasonably good shape again but I never truly got back to my original physique. Not only did I notice a change in my body from the way I looked but I also started experiencing sleep issues and anxiety, which I had never experienced before. It was a very difficult struggle for me.

When I got pregnant with my second baby, I was now 33 and knew I would face the same struggles again if I didn’t have a plan. I had been friends with Sandy through Facebook for several years and would always see her updates and her before and after shots of some of her clients. Seeing these inspired me to get in touch with her to setup training starting 6 weeks after I gave birth which is when I would be allowed to start working out again. I had gained about the same amount of weight with my second pregnancy and gave birth through cesarean again to my second son on November 11th, 2014. I remember looking at myself naked in the mirror and felt gross and just knowing that I had setup a plan to start training with Sandy gave me hope that I would feel better soon. I started experiencing the same anxiety and sleep issues again almost right after giving birth as well.

I had to get myself back to functioning for the sake of my family, for my own mental health and for my work. I remember the day I started working out with Sandy, when I took my bikini pictures. I was swollen, felt fat and just not pretty at all. She was amazing, she was so supportive and gave me hope every step of the way. Sandy didn’t just push me to do unrealistic exercises right away. She gradually moved up the resistance and reps and then isolating muscle groups. I could tell that I wasn’t only getting back into shape and losing fat, I also felt that working out was giving me the balance I needed mentally to reduce anxiety and start getting some proper sleep again.

Although I learned so much from Sandy about training and working out the right way, the biggest thing I learned from her was nutrition. She started out by giving me meal plans, which were easy to follow. I just had to get used to preparing my meals in advance but once I got into a routine, it was easy. I was never hungry because I was actually eating 5 to 6 meals per day! She then started to educate me on not only what amount of calories I should be having per day but what kinds of calories and how much protein I should be having compared to carbs, etc. Once I learned that, I was able to be flexible with my diet while still keeping really good balanced eating habits. To me, this is the key because there are so many women out there trying so many different diets. Sandy sets you up with a realistic lifestyle that you can continue for the rest of your life so that you can aspire to look as good as her! It’s not about going on crash diets, its about learning how to work out properly and eat the right combination of foods to give you the best results while still allowing you to be realistic with what you eat.

I am now sleeping well, I feel good and I feel like I can keep up the eating and training that I’ve learned on my own. I have a trip booked to the Caribbean with my family this summer and I am looking forward to putting on my bikini. It took hard work and guidance from Sandy to get here but I feel empowered to step onto that beach with my two young boys and loving husband and feel good about who I am and I what I can accomplish! You can feel that way too.

I am so incredibly glad I made the decision to sign up for Sandy’s services. She is an inspiration for real women with real lives. Whether you’re a stay at home mom, have a full time career or are doing both, you can get back into shape and start feeling good physically and emotionally again. Signing up with Sandy has been the best gift I could give to myself. Thank you so much Sandy!

In 17 weeks Melissa lost 15.2 lbs. 16.5 inches total and 10.1% body fat

NANCY

I had always been active through my life- with a mixture of running,aerobics,and various sports. Even periods of weight lifting- depending on what my time and mood was like.

I was feeling great, probably in as good of shape as I had been. I was done having children ( 5 of them) and moving on with life. But that changed just 2 months into my 39th year, when I was diagnosed with colon cancer. How did THAT happen???!

After a fast surgery and a year of weekly chemotherapy, I was in the worst shape of my life. There were many things I learned that year- one of which was you can actually GAIN weight on chemo…Another surprise. Between my age? and the effects of a comparatively sedentary sick year- I gained weight.

Fast forward 20 years. My exercise routine and diet didn’t have the same results it had before. I was still working at losing some of the weight I had gained during the ” chemo years” and I was becoming what I termed as ‘ thick’.

My exercise and diet didn’t have the same results it had before, even though I felt like I was working harder and spending more time at the gym. I also had a number of trainers- all men.

They were great and I liked them, but after months that turned into years, there were no measurable positive results.

I was really discouraged. When I had an unexpected knee surgery ( as a result of a sports injury)- life was appearing bleak. I was wondering if I would ever get back to where I wanted to be and be able to keep up with my kids and grandchildren!

A friend of mine had gone to Sandy after having a serious back surgery, and was looking fantastic and feeling strong. I was intrigued to find out if I could possibly think of having half the results: A woman trainer, who worked with injuries, and got great results. It seemed too good to be true. After looking up her website, it took me awhile to contact Sandy. I definitely didn’t fit the paradigm. I was not young and cute- nor did I have ANY desire to be in a bikini again. ( could a bikini be defined as a 2- piece that went from your neck to your knees)? But never say never.

I really felt like I was out of options. I just wanted to be fit , feel good, and fit in clothes again. Even though I was a little intimidated- I thought it would be worth making an appointment with her so she could see what she would have to work with. And as it turned out- she should have been my first and only option!

She couldn’t have been nicer( genuinely) and professional. (She didn’t seem to be alarmed and there were no gasps or pasted smiles). I made one of the best decisions of my ‘ mature’ life that day and signed up to train with her! 

I really looked forward to training. I was excited to do my part and hoped the results came with that enthusiasm and effort. It was not easy- but always doable. It didn’t take long for those close to me to see results. I was amazed at how my body transformed before my own eyes. Sandy was so positive and knowledgable. I was surprised how in tune she was with my body and muscles. She worked around my schedule and through my injuries and ‘ tweaks’ and I didn’t miss a beat. I never dreamed I would get the results I did in the relatively short time I trained with her. In 5 months I lost lbs % body fat and inches? Anyone who is considering changing your life for the better and learning how to have a healthy fit life- needs to seriously consider Sandy as a trainer. Her knowledge of diet and exercise and how they work together are a winning combination. She is truly amazing and my hope for writing this is that all women no matter what age could feel better both physically and mentally. I know I do.

NIKI

Oddly, after the birth of my first child, I dropped weight from postpartum depression. That was 10 years ago. Since then, I birthed two more children and have never been able to get back to my pre-baby body which was a good 15lbs heavier. That may seem like a blessing to most people, but my look of “skinny” made me look very unhealthy and emaciated. I realized that though my body may have “looked” healthy to public opinion, I was far from it.

It took me a moment to realize that the years of unhealthy eating and lack of excercise made me sluggish, tired and way more impatient when it came to dealing with everyday life, especially with my children. What I once believed was great “genetics” was actually causing me harm. So after researching several personal trainers, I chose Sandy Hancock. And it has turned out to be one of the best decisions I have made in my life.

Her one-on-one coaching style made me feel like I was the only one she was working with! The fact that I was probably a small percentage of her clients that couldn’t put on weight, I could tell that the meal plans and cardio/weight training programs that she developed was customized just for me. I REALLY enjoyed her quick responses to any questions, concerns or issues that I had. And because of those traits, it made it hard to deviate from her plan. I did that once and the look of her disappointment in me made me never want to do it again.

Sandy takes your current lifestyle and goals to heart and she will help and support you until you reach your dreams. I pledge this to be true, because since meeting with her less than 1 year ago, she has transformed my eating habits and physical body and guided me to an NGA Pro title and NPC 1st Place in Masters and NPC 3rd Place in Open Bikini. With all my heart, thanks so much Sandy!!!

LARA

I have always been a person that liked to workout and feel good about myself. I am a mother of 2 and am 41 years old. In my early 20’s I was all about fasting, low calories, low fat, crazy fad diets and did a ton of cardio. Even with all that, I never could get my body the amount of muscle/toning I wanted. In my 30’s after having babies, I found myself going right back into that pattern again. Of course my body was different after having kids, but it was still hard to swallow the fact that even with the low calories and a ton of cardio, I would lose weight, but then it would come right back on and I still could not get that muscle tone. Then I hit my 40’s. I thought enough was enough of the roller coaster of weight.

I met Sandy 13 years ago. She was the fittest/hottest 40 year old I had ever met. We stayed somewhat in touch over the years, but when I finally made the choice to go a different direction in my fitness, she was the first person that came to my mind. I called her up and set my consultation appointment. It was life changing for me! Sandy shifted my paradigms of what I thought I knew was the “right way”, to what was really the way to work out and eat.

The meal plans she gave me were amazing and easy. It was a lot of food and totally against what I used to think, but after her explaining to me that I needed to eat and to look at food as fuel for my body and to help create muscle, I knew I had to just follow her plan.

Then came the weights. I had never really lifted weights before when I worked out. I am now so in love with weight training it is crazy. Sandy was so great in helping me correct my form when I needed it and knowing what was the right weight for me. She changed it up every time, so it was fun to see what new things I learn when I came in for my training appointments.

Then came the affirmations and self talk. Sandy taught me so much about these things and helped me on those rough days. Her positive attitude and laughter (boy did we laugh a lot!!) brought such an amazing level of energy into my workouts and carried me for days. (Dang it, I realize how much I am missing her right now!!)

Sandy has been such an integral part of my life for the last 6 months. All she taught me changed my body composition in ways I had NEVER seen before, but always wanted to achieve and never thought I could. She also helped created a stronger and healthier woman, mind, body and spirit! She posses all the attributes you could ever want in a trainer. She’s empathetic, but also knows when to push you. She is for sure my role model in health, fitness and being an amazingly graceful and classy lady!!

Lara lost 10 lbs, 6% body fat and 8.25 inches

KYLIE

I started working with Sandy 7 months after having a baby. I had put on about 25 extra pounds from the baby that I had to lose. I had reached a point in my weight loss journey where I no longer was seeing results on my own. I was going to classes at the gym, doing occasional cardio, and lifting and in addition to that I was eating as healthy as I knew how to. I was feeling very frustrated and unmotivated because I didn’t know what else to do. I felt hopeless. Previously to having a baby I never really struggled with my weight and didn’t really know what to do to return back to my pre-baby weight.

I had a friend who had worked with Sandy doing bikini competitions and spoke very highly of Sandy. She told me that she did weight loss coaching as well, and I quickly got all of her information. Sandy was so quick to respond to me and has been nothing but helpful and kind through out the entire 12 week process. I would ask Sandy a lot of little questions during the whole process and she was so good to answer everything I had questions about. She really does know what she is doing. I have now lost all the weight that I was struggling with and am lower in weight, body fat and inches than before I had my baby. I feel so happy and motivated. Sandy has really helped me to get my confidence back and for that I will always be grateful! She also has helped me obtain so much knowledge and taught me a lot about myself. I definitely would recommend Sandy to anyone looking to lose weight and become a healthier person. Thanks Sandy for everything! You are the best and I thank you for everything you have done for me, I couldn’t have done it without you.

In 12-Weeks Kylie lost 14 inches total, 7.5% body fat and 8.3 lbs. Good Job Kylie!

DANIELLE

I have always struggled with body image issues and being able to love my body. I can honestly say I have never loved my body and have always felt uncomfortable in my own skin. After working with Sandy I am down 22 lbs, 12% body fat and 22.75 inches. I have gained so much more than love for my body. I have learned how to eat for my body type and my specific goals. I have gained the confidence to lift in the gym and the understanding of how much self talk will affect my progress. Working with Sandy has changed my life. She is a wonderful person inside and out and I am so grateful for all of her knowledge and understanding. I am excited to see my continued growth and progress. Thank you for everything Sandy!

KIM

I’ve struggled with my weight most of my life. I actually can’t remember a time I wasn’t doing some new fad diet. My weight constantly went up and down and after I had my 3 kids it pretty much just stayed up. I lost and gained back the same 20 pounds so many times that I lost count. I felt tired and depressed all the time. I felt like I was cheating my family out of the healthy happy wife and mom they deserved. I didn’t want to go out anymore because I was embarrassed by the way I looked. I even overheard one of my friends husbands call me chubby. I was at such a low point and when I didn’t think I could feel any worse, my mom was diagnosed with cancer. That was it. I knew I needed to change. I needed to be healthy for my kids and strong to face the cancer with my mom.

I started watching what I ate but I was too intimated to go to the gym. My progress was going so slow. As my mom got sicker I realized she wasn’t going to get better and I really wanted her to see me conquer my weight battle she had seen me struggle with my whole life. I knew I needed to get more serious and to see the results I wanted I needed to hit the gym. I started looking into personal trainers in Utah and Sandy’s site popped up. I saw that she did training out of her own private gym and that was just what I needed. I went to my initial consultation and felt so comfortable and motivated by Sandy right away. I signed up and started the next week. The following couple of weeks were a little challenging but with Sandy’s guidance, by the time I got my second nutrition plan I felt like a pro. I was already getting stronger in my workouts and I was losing pounds and inches consistently. I couldn’t believe the change I felt within myself. For the first time in a long time I had confidence. It was easy to stay on track because I had so much support from my husband, family and friends. My mom could see the change in me and it made her so happy.

About half way through my transformation my mom lost her battle with cancer. Normally something like this would totally derail me and I would go way off track. Being accountable to Sandy kept me going. She was really there for me after my mom’s death. I wish my mom could have seen me get to the end of my program while she was still here but I know she’s watching proudly somewhere.

I feel like a new person. I look good and feel good in my clothes. I even confidently wore a bikini this summer. Something I haven’t been able to do before. I’m done with my six-month transformation but I feel like this is just the beginning. I decided to move on to Sandy’s 12-week program just to get me used to doing things on my own a little more. I’m so excited to start and I can’t wait to see where I can go from here!

In 6 months Kim lost a total of 53 lbs, 23.5 inches and 14.6% body fat.

At the end of her 10 months program Kim lost a total of 63 lbs, 30.5 inches and 16.2% body fat.

TIFFANEE

July of 2012, after a lifetime of yo-yo diet-fads and haphazard workout routines that produced minimal results, I reached the point of looking desperately for a way to establish a healthy relationship with food and exercise. That’s when I came across Body By Sandy’s website. I read with great interest the testimonials of her clients and studied their before and after pictures closely. Having never lifted weights in my life and feeling intimidated every time I even walked through the weight section of the gym, I wondered if Sandy’s program would work for me. It was also a major commitment financially and would be doubly challenging since I travel weekly as a flight attendant. Even so, Sandy designed a customized plan for me and assured me it would work. After much deliberation, I decided to go for it! I dedicated myself completely to her diet and exercise routine. After three months the results were impressive enough that Sandy convinced me to train with the goal of competing in a Fitness Competition!!! I was hesitant but she prevailed on me emphasizing the importance of having a goal beyond a number on a scale or a dress size. So, I agreed. It turned out to be the right mix of fear and motivation and it inspired me to work even harder to prepare for the show. Six months later I stood on stage in my first competition with a great sense of pride and accomplishment. I’m very grateful to Sandy for all she had done to help me. It turned out to be a life-changing experience and I have now competed in 3 shows!!

Sandy has a proven track record of life-transforming wellness training. She has brought together a network of strong women who form friendships and encourage each other through the ups and downs. Particularly helpful were the pre-competition posing sessions with the BBS crew – they helped push me past the moments of discouragement and gave me the support I needed to compete.

It has been a year and a half since I began my journey to a healthy lifestyle and I am beyond what I ever could have envisioned. The best part is that I now see food as a fuel that provides the energy needed to do the things I enjoy. I am very pleased with my transformation and the way I feel now. Thank you Sandy for changing my life forever!!!

MARYAM

Ever since I was in high school, I’ve never really had much motivation to work out. I’ve never been very physically fit, but luckily I was able to get by with an average metabolism and an average build. Then after I realized that I was the heaviest I’ve ever been, I decided to join a gym and try and stay in shape. For two years, I worked out by myself and I barely lost a pound, doing just cardio and barely able to curl 5lb dumbbells (no exaggeration!). Then I found Sandy. Sandy singlehandedly helped me lose over 7% body fat, over 15lbs, getting me to the lowest weight I’d been since I was 16. She helped me with the knowledge of how I should feed my body, and showed me the right way to lift weights. The amount of muscle I’ve gained since starting with Sandy still amazes me to this day, and as a full time student with a full time job (and a full time social life), I never would have gotten there without her structure, accountability and guidance. It’s not just a workout with Sandy, it’s a lifestyle; and I’m forever grateful that I found a trainer, and more importantly a close friendship, that will last a lifetime. Thanks Sandy and I can’t wait to step on the stage one day soon representing you!!

DIANA

I hired Sandy because I was tired of yo yo dieting and had become very sedentary. I had no energy or motivation. I had gained 30 lbs in the last 16 years and felt like I had no muscle, no energy and no motivation. I knew that I needed accountability. I had no self-confidence and was very ashamed of what I saw when I looked in the mirror. I chose Sandy because I liked the fact that she was closer to my own age. I didn’t feel like working with a “young hard-body” who wouldn’t understand how my body had changed. Sandy looks fantastic and works very hard, she is strong and fit and that alone was motivation to work hard, stay focused and obtain the body I desire. In 6 months I have lost 25 lbs and gone down 4 sizes in my clothing. I lost 9% body fat. I am strong and have muscle definition that I have never had in my life. The strength I have now makes everything I do easier and faster. I feel great and have gained self-confidence and energy along with motivation to eat better and be more active. I feel, act and look younger. My life has changed so much these past 6 months that I feel more social and want to get out in the world and see people and places instead of staying at home, hidden in the house. I feel pride in accomplishing my goals. Sandy had the knowledge and tools to help me reach those goals.

KATHY

I was diagnosed with Breast Cancer February 2008. Three weeks after discovering the lump, I was angry just as much as I was devastated not knowing what the outcome would be. My husband could sense my apprehension (even though I tried to be strong about it all), and the pure, natural fear of losing one or both of my breasts. (I hate not being in control and I wasn’t in control of me anymore.) So he took me away from it all to a place where nothing leaves, to talk, laugh, play and make decisions. Las Vegas. Chemotherapy and Radiation treatments followed a right side radical mastectomy. Although I was never really very ill during this, these two treatments drastically changed my body. From the loss of my hair, this truly affected me more than I thought it would. Handfuls of it washing out in the shower brought the decision to have my head shaved, so my very supportive husband assisted me in this endeavor. (No more bad hair days!) The being lopsided was another problem to overcome. I definitely needed something to equalize that right side so my necklaces would hang straight instead of sliding to the empty spot and hang at an angle. The weeks of inactivity really got me down. I wanted to work in the office, nixed. I wanted to work in my garden, nixed. I wanted to ride my bike, go on walks, go golfing, nixed. Food? Oh yes, I could have all I wanted. So I did.

Before & After2-10 months 9-15 to 7-16.jpg

Reconstruction surgery took place in 2009. After 7 days of recovery in the hospital, it was 3 more months at home. Yes, more food and little to no activity…again. This really did change my body I was not so sure it had been the right thing to have done, I didn’t know if I would ever look right again. In 2010, a stress fracture to the right foot required surgery. Where or when that pain started I couldn’t say, but by mid August, I could barely stand. Surgery was once again taking control of my life and my visits to the Wellness Center stopped. I was fitted with a black boot and told to stay off my foot for 3 months and must keep it up above heart level. (What is it about Doctors and that magical 3 months of inactivity for healing and recovery?) I wore that boot from mid September thru December when I broke free only after promising the doctor I would visit him again at our 1 year anniversary. Physical Therapy took place off and on for a little over 2 years. Although my stamina improved during that time, I was not physically in shape. By the time the boot came off I weighed a whopping 187 lbs and wore a size 16+. My clothes did not fit me. 20 years ago I weighed 130 lbs and wore a size 8. Now I was miserable. I tried everything to lose weight. Everything that came along I would try, promising myself I would make it work this time. There were diet pills, powders, special foods, I even convinced my husband that the popular exercise DVD’s would definitely remove the rolls from my back, sides and tummy. I just could not understand why I kept on getting larger. (There is one thing about any of those exercise programs that I have learned. You have to use them; you have to move to lose.) My husband remembered a friend that knew Sandy Hancock. One day when I was feeling especially low, he suggested I look up her website. (All I could think while looking up that infamous site of “BodyBySandy.com” was what could she offer that I hadn’t already tried?) After reading about Sandy and the programs and of course after discussing the different programs with my husband (after all it was his idea and he who pointed in Sandy’s direction), I (we) decided I should contact Sandy. Sandy was very gracious. After reviewing my online request, photo’s and history she agreed to set up an appointment for consultation and evaluation. This turned out to be a discussion to find out what my goals were and to find out if I was truly willing to commit. (There were forms and doctors releases I had to fill out or have filled out and sent back into her.) Sandy wanted to make sure I truly wanted to change. When I had to set a goal, the only thing I could think of was to be skinny like I used to be? (No not good enough.) To lose inches and gain some muscle? Now I was getting on track. But how was I going to do that? How much weight did I need to lose? How much muscle should I try to build? This is where Sandy came to my rescue. Keep the goals small and attainable. This is what she does. Through nutrition, meal planning, cardio plans that rotate every 3 weeks and personal training 2 to 3 times a week. No sweat right? Not hardly! But did I do it? YES! (Yes, I did sweat!) Sandy knew just how much to push me and when to tell me to not to push myself so hard. I looked forward to my visits to Sandy’s and I even looked forward to the sore muscles I knew would follow. I always look forward to receiving new menu plans because they are always such a surprise, always yummy and so easy to follow (Just a little planning), and no cheating required. Sandy has never given up on me, she really cares about me and I don’t want to let her down. It has now been a year since I first contacted Sandy. I have gone from 174+ lbs to 133 lbs from 39% body fat to 18.1% body fat and I have gained 5.4% lean muscle. My husband refers to Sandy as the Miracle Worker; he has been by my side every step of the way to encourage me. My doctors are thrilled; my cancer hates it (cancer likes fatty cells to grow in, so says my oncologist). I love what my body is becoming, (I still have a ways to go to reach my newest goal.) All in all I’m proud to call Sandy Hancock my friend.

Kathy lost 10.4% body fat, 27.25 inches overall and 17 lbs. Kathy is 68 year young and still works with me.

ANNIE

Where to begin with my story…well when I got married, my husband was in crazy good shape. He is really attractive and I always felt like people were saying things like, “Why is he with her?” It honestly hurt, so I finally decided to get in shape. I wanted to be in amazing shape actually so I thought I wanted to compete in a bikini competition. I started with a regular trainer at my home gym but wasn’t getting the results I needed to win this type of competition. I honestly thought, “Ok, great. Well, I will never be able to compete because I can’t lose this weight.” One day I was looking at the NGA site and I saw Sandy’s information on there and decided to email and make an appointment because I was going to compete in April of this year come hell or high water. I went and met with Sandy and wow she was so nice and her trophy case alone spoke for her. I walked in and saw all those trophies and said to myself, “Annie, she will get you where you want to go.” Let’s just say that is more than true. I think that for me gaining the confidence to walk on that stage in a little bikini was a huge deal. I, like a lot of women, have had a struggle with my weight and my body image and thought that if I could walk across a stage and be judged in a bikini that would do wonders for my self esteem…and it did! We started working together officially on January 21, 2013 and my life changed forever. I weighed in at 133 lbs and had 21% body fat. Before that, when I was working with a trainer, I started at 145 lbs and 29% body fat so I had come down but still had such a long way to go. Sandy sent me my first meal plan and I was terrified! No sugar, gluten, wheat, or dairy? Such a different lifestyle than the one I had and three weeks later when I went in and we measured I had dropped to 17.9% body fat in 3 weeks! I knew this was right for me. If I could do this I could conquer anything. I knew that if I kept to my diet and worked out hard I could do this and Sandy believed in me too. There was literally nothing that was going to get in my way of reaching this goal not even myself. As I worked I watched my body change and it was incredible what I was doing and it was all me. I have never felt more incredible in my entire life. Then came posing…if you want to talk to someone who was crazy nervous about posing that would be me. I was thinking, “You really want me to walk around a gym in a bikini? I don’t know how I feel about that.” It was incredibly nerve-racking for me, so much so that the first time I was supposed to do group posing I totally wussed out and didn’t go. After that I regained my confidence and went and it seriously changed everything for me at that point. Meeting all of the girls and having the extra support was incredible. Not only did I have the most amazing trainer, but I had a group of women who knew exactly what I was doing and could help motivate me to work harder than I was before. This truly made me ready for competition day because we ran through it like it was a competition.

Then came my first competition day, wow this was the most incredible day of my life so far. Not only was it a giant girl party but I felt truly beautiful in those moments. From the awesome spray tan to the incredible make up, everything just felt so right to me. When I got to the school and got ready to go on stage I honestly thought that I had no chance of winning, so I told myself that if this was it I was going to rock that stage as hard as I could and have no regrets and that is exactly what I did! I went out there and strutted my stuff and I felt incredible. I knew that I had worked extremely hard to get to that point and no one could take this hard work and dedication away from me. In that moment everything was an accomplishment for me. I hit my poses perfectly to me and that is what truly counted. During the night show my entire family was there and I walked back out on that stage with confidence knowing that I had done the best I could and everyone was there supporting me. Then we went back stage to wait for the names to be called for the top 3 and all of the sudden I heard Annie Kundis…wait, what? I made it into the top 3? I did not even think I would place. Then they announced 3rd place, then they announced 2nd place, and 3 rows of people stood up cheering because that means I had just won first place in my first competition. The feeling was incredible, I cried. It was one of the best moments of my entire life and Sandy is truly the one who made it possible. Sandy Hancock has changed my life and made it better. I would recommend her to anyone and everyone for all fitness goals. I am extremely happy I chose her to be my trainer and can’t wait to work with her on my upcoming shows. Thank you Sandy!